Welcome to Nomad

What's on

Featured Books

Young Mungo

by Douglas Stewart
£16.99

Order this book

Freezing Order

by Bill Browder
£12.99

Order this book

Four Thousand Weeks

by Oliver Burkeman
£9.99

Order this book

Companion Piece

by Ali Smith
£16.99

Order this book

Amongst Our Weapons

by Ben Aaronovitch
£18.99

Order this book

Transcendent Kingdom

by Yaa Gyasi
£8.99

Order this book

French Braid

by Anne Tyler
£16.99

Order this book

Real Estate

by Deborah Levy
£8.99

Order this book

French language titles

Une Adolescente

by Lolita Pille
£21.50

Order this book

Anéantir

by Michel Houellebecq
£27.50

Order this book

Un Barrage Contre l’Atlantique: roman

by Frédéric Beigbeder
£21.50

Order this book

Le Droit du sol: Journal d’un vertige

by Étienne Davodeau
£27.00

Order this book

La Volonté

by Mark Dugan
£21.50

Order this book

La Traversée des Temps: Paradis Perdus

by Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt
£24.50

Order this book

Pour Un Instant d’Éternité

by Gilles Legardinier
£10.50

Order this book

Staff Picks

Picked by Mia

Exciting Times

by Naoise Dolan
£8.99

Very Sally Rooney-esque but also very much her own style, Dolan’s debut novel is funny, sharp and extremely readable. Set in Hong Kong, we see the lives of the rich bankers through the eyes of Ava, an Irish foreign language teacher. Perceptive and pleasingly socialist, this quick-witted book is a great read.

Order this book
Picked by Grace

These Violent Delights

by Chloe Gong
£8.99

A Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s gangster-run Shanghai about star-crossed exes from rivalling gangs who must work together to stop a monster from terrorising their city. What more could you want?! Beautifully written with a heart-wrenching ending that will have you both grabbing for the tissues and begging for the sequel!

Order this book
Picked by Grace

Ace of Spades

by Faridah Abike-Iyimide
£8.99

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, Ace of Spades follows two teenagers in their final year of a private school who must work together as they become the primary targets for an anonymous blackmailer. Yet Ace of Spades is much more than your typical thriller as it delves deep into the implications of institutionalised racism. Ace of Spade's comparison to Get Out meets Gossip Girl, with unlikely friendships, mystery-solving, LGBT representation and a sprinkle of dark academia is spot on - an essential read!

Order this book
Picked by Mia

A Long Petal Of The Sea

by Isabel Allende
£8.99

A beautifully written book about displacement and identity, with a healthy dose of Allende’s perceptive ruminations on love and Latin American family. Allende herself was forced to flee Chile after the military coup, and this fascinating book takes us from civil-war Spain, to Chile, to Venezuela. I love anything about Latin America, and this book delivers an incredibly readable and impassioned account of people standing up for what is right in the face of adversity. My favourite book of 2019!

Order this book
Picked by Mia

Light Perpetual

by Francis Spufford
£8.99

On a Saturday lunchtime in November 1944, a bomb lands in London, instantly killing five young children. This book imagines the lives they might have gone on to lead, seeing through major events of the 20th century from the points of view of five ordinary people. Spufford plays with time and history in an interesting and thought-provoking way, and his characters lead us through the quiet miracle of the ordinary, half-remembered everyday life.

Order this book
Picked by Justina

Madame Burova

by Ruth Hogan
£12.99

A gypsy tarot reader, a wall of death rider, an adoption mystery and a delightful group of characters bought together by the seaside. This is classic Ruth Hogan. Enchanting, sweet, and heartbreaking.
I cried at the end. It was great!

Order this book
Picked by Grace

Circe

by Madeline Miller
£9.99

Circe is a feminist retelling of a little-known Greek mythical figure - Circe - who is given both a voice and a story by Madeline Miller. Yet Circe is not just a fantasy but also a coming-of-age story, exploring the intensity of emotions in falling in love for the first time and the ensuing heartbreak, as well as the many joys and struggles of single motherhood. An incredible, beautifully-written read for those who are fans of Greek myths and also for those who just fancy tipping their toes in.

Order this book
Picked by Aude

Holding Her Breath

by Eimear Ryan
£12.99

The best debut I have read in years.
Extremely well written and so atmospheric that I could almost taste the chlorine and smell the sea spray. The characters and the spirit of Roslyn will stay with you long after your finish the book.

Order this book
Picked by Mia

Second Place

by Rachel Cusk
£14.99

The third book in the "Outline" trilogy, this is a highly unique take on family and complicated relationship dynamics in a remote part of the world. Artful and often very ethereal in her writing, Cusk explores societal roles and the dangers of miscommunication in a way that stays with you. Would very much recommend.

Order this book

Books for Teens

A Single Thread of Moonlight

by Laura Wood
£7.99

Order this book

Firekeeper’s Daughter

by Angelline Boulley
£8.99

Order this book

You’ll Be the Death of Me

by Karen M. McManus
£7.99

Order this book

Defy the Night

by Brigid Kemmerer
£7.99

Order this book

Empress & Aniya

by Candice Carty-Williams
£7.99

Order this book

Ace of Spades

by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
£8.99

Order this book

They Both Die at the End

by Adam Silvera
£7.99

Order this book

Six of Crows

by Leigh Bardugo
£8.99

Order this book

Books for children ages 10-12

Like A Charm

by Elle McNicoll
£6.99

Order this book

Tiger Honor : A Thousand Worlds Novel

by Yoon Ha Lee
£14.99

Order this book

Daughter of the Deep

by Rick Riordan
£14.99

Order this book

Locked Out Lily

by Nick Lake
£12.99

Order this book

When Fishes Flew

by Michael Morpurgo
£12.99

Order this book

Kay’s Marvellous Medicine : A Gross and Gruesome History of the Human Body

by Adam Kay
£14.99

Order this book

The Week at World’s End

by Emma Carroll
£12.99

Order this book

Books for children ages 8-10

A Storm of Sisters

by Michelle Harrison
£7.99

Order this book

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Big Shot

by Jeff Kinney
£12.99

Order this book

The 143-Storey Treehouse

by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton
£12.99

Order this book

The Boy With Wings

by Lenny Henry
£12.99

Order this book

Following Frankenstein

by Catherine Bruton
£7.99

Order this book

Pages & Co: The Book Smugglers

by Anna James
£12.99

Order this book

Pax, Journey Home

by Sara Pennypacker
£12.99

Order this book

Peanut Jones and the Illustrated City

by Rob Biddulph
£12.99

Order this book

Dog Man: Mothering Heights

by Dav Pilkey
£10.99

Order this book

Books for Young Readers

The Princess in Black and the Giant Problem

by Shannon & Dean Hale, LeUyen Pham
£6.99

Order this book

Elisabeth and the Box of Colours

by Katherine Woodfine
£6.99

Order this book

Rabbit Bear: A Bad King is a Sad Thing

by Julian Gogh & Jim Field

Order this book

Ghoulia and the Doomed Manor

by Barbara Cantini
£7.99

Order this book

Jasper & Scruff: The Great Cat Cake-Off

by Nicola Colton
£5.99

Order this book

Billy and the Mini Monsters: Monsters Go Green

by Zanna Davidson, Melanie Willamson
£5.99

Order this book

Pirate Pug

by Laura James
£6.99

Order this book

Picture Books

Organise your own event

Nomad has a flexible arrangement of rooms and seating to provide the setting for your event, whether book related or not. We have hosted travel lectures, wine tastings, book group parties, book launches, artist's shows, craft activities as well as readings for children, young people and adults. Our space is inspiring.

Contact Us

Stationery

Follow us

We’re very excited to invite our customers to an evening with Sunday Times bestselling author Beth Morrey on Monday 7th March! 📚

Nomad Books’ book club will be reading Beth’s latest heart-felt and hopeful novel about finding (and taking) second chances - Em & Me - for the month of March. Beth herself will be kindly joining us to talk about her book, answer questions and sign your copies!

Doors will open at 6:30pm for a 7:00pm start. All are welcome - you don’t have to be a book club member to join!

We look forward to seeing you there! 🥰
...

Happy New Year! 🥳 A very big thank you to all our customers who have supported us this past year! We hope we can continue to bring you the very best books in 2022! 📚

Here are a selection of newly published paperbacks that we currently have in stock (including Costa Book Award winning Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller 😉) if you’re looking for a January pick-me-up! We’re now back to our usual opening hours so feel free to come on down!
...

And that’s almost a wrap!!! We are here until 5pm today for all your bookish needs. We will be open on Wednesday 29th and Thursday 30th, and will then look forward to welcoming you back on Tuesday 4th. Thank you for your support throughout another challenging year, we wish you all a lovely Christmas and a relaxing New Year! ...

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins
There has been a problem with your Instagram Feed.